You can move around with your keyboard
plus
minus
left
right
Drop pin on the map to start a new report
space
Press space again to adjust the location
space
Back to all reports

Drain raised above pavement causing water pooling

Reported via mobile in the Road, Pavement and PROW Issues category anonymously at 15:21, Saturday 19 February 2022 using FixMyStreet Pro

Sent to Bromley Council less than a minute later

This is a new path, but the runoff of water cannot now occur due to the drain not being downstream of water due to paving stones damming the flow. Pavement needs recontouring

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • Thank you for your report, this is now being investigated. Information on our services and the timeframes we aim to respond in can be found: http://www.bromley.gov.uk/ fixservices

    State changed to: In progress

    Posted by Bromley Council at 15:22, Saturday 19 February 2022

  • Photo from opposite angle

    State changed to: Open

    Posted anonymously at 15:24, Saturday 19 February 2022

  • The photos taken by reporter appear to be in very unusual wet condition site was visited shortly after in dry times the area is completely dry we will not be taken any further action

    State changed to: Closed

    Posted by Bromley Council at 10:09, Tuesday 22 February 2022

  • Thank you for using FixMyStreet to report your concerns to Bromley.

    State changed to: Fixed

    Posted by Bromley Council at 08:21, Thursday 17 March 2022

  • Dear complaint handling Team

    Your answer to the query raised by anonymous on Saturday 19th is unsatisfactory and inaccurate.

    The brickwork has been installed incorrectly because there is not sufficient fall for the water to flow into the drain.

    The contractor needs to return to site and correct the poor level of work. The installation has cost the public a lot of money and it needs to be installed correctly otherwise the water will continue to pond which will result in algae / moss forming on top of the brickwork ready for somebody to slip over and break an arm. The flooding has happened several times and concerns local residents who have to cross the road every time it rains

    Please find a further photo showing the problem which requires action.

    Furthermore I would like you to explain why this work has been carried out, the widening of the pavement makes no sense and has caused a potential collision point in the road where it has been narrowed and altered.

    This represents a good example of wasting Council Tax payers money on something that was completely unnecessary. Previously the road was safer and wider allowing people more room to park, the pavement was also in good condition free from issues and had plenty of room.

    Thank you

    Posted anonymously at 22:18, Thursday 26 May 2022

  • Please find attached photo

    Posted anonymously at 22:20, Thursday 26 May 2022

  • There will no further action from our minor works department the area appears to have a very quick drying time which has been monitored after normal rainfall on many occasions.

    Posted by Bromley Council at 13:08, Friday 10 June 2022

  • Dear complaint handling Team

    Thank you for your message. I would like to add that your answer brings an alarming awareness of misleading the public and portraying incompetence.

    The water flows into the flowerbed not into the drain as it should and as can be seen in the photo there is clearly an issue which needs correction. To say there is a problem but we can live with it is not correcting the poor workmanship or providing the public with a good level of service, it promotes distrust.

    What your surveyor should be saying is I can clearly see the contractor has not provided adequate fall and I will instruct them to correct it at their expense as per the contractual conditions.

    Can you also please provide the public an answer why these alterations were undertaken and whether it represents good value for money.

    Thank you

    Posted anonymously at 07:37, Saturday 11 June 2022

  • We are continuing to investigate and working to resolve this report

    State changed to: In progress

    Posted by Bromley Council at 14:18, Friday 24 June 2022

  • Thank you for your enquiry. We are sorry for the information you have received so far regarding this, it was originally sent to the wrong team in the council. We can confirm that the site was inspected on the 21st of July with the Council and the contractor that carried out the works. It has been agreed that these works are still within the warranty period and the contractor will be carrying out remedial works over the next month to rectify the ponding issue.

    Posted by Bromley Council at 10:04, Monday 25 July 2022

  • Our contractor has been notified to take the appropriate action.

    Posted by Bromley Council at 10:07, Monday 25 July 2022

  • The issue has been re-attended and additional works completed. If the issue re-occurs please re-report via: https://fix.bromley.gov.uk

    State changed to: Fixed

    Posted by Bromley Council at 15:32, Thursday 25 August 2022

Provide an update

Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Next: Tell us about you

or No personal details will be stored, and you will not receive updates about this report.

Your update

Tell us about you

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?