Back to all reports

2 vehicles parked with For Sale notices

Reported in the Car parking category anonymously at 15:02, Fri 27 July 2012

Sent to Cheshire West and Chester Council 3 minutes later

Heading out of Chester, on the right hand side of the road beyond the turning for Selkirk Drive there is an area of pavement that narrows and a small lay-by. I think this was once an entrance to a driveway no longer in use. It is not an "official" lay-by. There are 2 cars parked there with For Sale notices. One of them has been there for several weeks. These cars are attracting motorists to stop and look at them. This is causing a nuisance in 2 ways. First, the parked cars obscure visibility for drivers turning out of Selkirk onto Hough Green. Additional cars pulling onto the pavement to look at the For Sale vehicles worsen the situation. Yesterday there were 3 cars on the pavement with people getting out of them to look at the For Sale cars. To do this, they have to cross the bus lane. Second, there is a cycleway along the wide pavement on the same side of Hough Green. Cyclists cannot use the road because of the bus lane. At the point where these cars are parked, the pavement narrows and cyclists need to cycle across the lay-by area to avoid pedestrians. Because of these permanently parked cars, cyclists and pedestrians are forced into the narrow section of pavement where there is not enough room to pass safely. This is made worse by the additional cars parking on the pavement attracted by the For Sale signs.

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • The council told me that they did not intend to do anything about it. The person who responded said it was not illegal to sell a car by the roadside, unless there was more than one within a certain proximity. My report an accompanying photos clearly showed there were 2 vehicles for sale next to each other. I replied pointing this out and asked if they were telling me it was a police matter, and if so whether they would refer it to the police or whether I should do so. I received no reply from Cheshire West and Chester Council. I clearly wasted my time bringing this to their attention.

    Posted anonymously at 15:56, Fri 24 August 2012

Provide an update

Please note that updates are not sent to the council. Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Now to submit your update…

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?

Yes I have a password

Forgotten your password? Confirm by email instead, providing a new password at that point. When you confirm, your password will be updated.

No Let me confirm my update by email

Providing a password is optional, but doing so will allow you to more easily report problems, leave updates and manage your reports.