Back to all reports

The street light is again not working. This is the third time in the past 10 days that the light has not come on as it gets dark. Please can this have attention - outside 15 Elmcroft.

Reported via desktop in the Street lighting category anonymously at 19:09, Monday 1 March 2021 using FixMyStreet Pro

Sent to Oxfordshire County Council less than a minute later

Street light not working yet again.

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • Hi, thanks for your report. Please can you help by if possible advising the number on the street light column itself as our records don't show whether number 1, 2 or 3 is outside No. 15 so we can't identify it. Kind regards, Mike

    Posted by Mike Ward Assistant Parish Clerk at 17:55, Wednesday 3 March 2021

  • Hi Mike

    This is light No.1. The light never came on at all throughout Monday night when reported. However, it came on as usual at dusk on Tuesday night and is on now.

    There is obviously something wrong with the mechanism which switches the light on as daylight fails. Please can you investigate - something is failing within the light system.

    Nigel Fountain

    Posted anonymously at 18:42, Wednesday 3 March 2021

  • Thanks very much - I can now report it to the contractor responsible for fixing these lights (SSE). It sounds like it might be a complex failure which probably means they will need to replace it with a new LED light. Unfortunately if this is the case it could take around a month to get it replaced - they are allowed 28 days to do it once they have identified the problem, and in the current environment have been known to take longer because of covid-19 restrictions. Please let us know if it is not fixed within 28 days. Kind regards, Mike

    Posted by Mike Ward Assistant Parish Clerk at 19:06, Wednesday 3 March 2021

  • The street light has not come on again this evening.

    Posted anonymously at 19:19, Sunday 7 March 2021

  • Hi again, this fault has been reported to SSE lighting, unfortunately it can take them longer to fix than normal due to coronavirus restrictions but we are assured it is on their list. Kind regards, Mike

    Posted by Mike Ward Assistant Parish Clerk at 08:47, Monday 8 March 2021

  • Total darkness this evening again as street light No.1 has not come on in Elmcroft - the 5th time in less than 3 weeks. I am aware you have the problem in hand but this is another update of the situation.

    Posted anonymously at 19:37, Tuesday 9 March 2021

  • I know that the street light No.1 in Elmcroft received attention today. However, the orange bulb has been replaced by a white bulb whose wattage is perhaps 50% of the orange bulb it replaced and really does not give sufficient light. This street light is on quite a sharp bend in the road with very large tall trees along the sides of the road. When the leaves appear in the Spring, the light will be insufficient. Please can the current bulb be replaced with a more efficient orange bulb?

    Posted anonymously at 21:19, Thursday 18 March 2021

  • Thanks for your update. I have inspected the light this evening and agree that it does seem to be dimmer than the surrounding lights. I will contact SSE to see if there is a reason for this and if anything can be done. I will also write to the occupants of No. 15 to ask them to have the branches of their trees cut back as I agree that when the leaves appear they will create an obstruction.

    Posted by Mike Ward Assistant Parish Clerk at 20:13, Friday 19 March 2021

  • The branches of the trees near the street light in Elmcroft have now been removed as requested by your letter dated 19 March 2021.

    Please can the white light bulb recently inserted in this street lamp be replaced by an orange bulb. The white light as stated before gives perhaps only 50% illumination of that given by the original orange bulb. Also, the white bulb is totally out of keeping with all other lights in Goring - every one is orange.

    Posted anonymously at 15:50, Monday 29 March 2021

  • Hi, thanks for your update. We have been advised by SSE that unfortunately the orange bulbs are no longer available, which is why they installed a white one. As a temporary measure they promised to install a more powerful bulb, but this won't be the same as the former orange light, so apparently the only thing we can do is replace it with a LED fitting (which should give a more powerful albeit white light). We are awaiting a quote for this. From past experience these replacements can take up to two months before they are actioned. Sorry about this but it appears this is our only option.

    Posted anonymously at 16:14, Monday 29 March 2021

Provide an update

Please note that updates are not sent to the council. Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Next: Tell us about you

or No personal details will be stored, and you will not receive updates about this report.

Your update

Tell us about you

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?